RM of Macdonald

Reeve Brad Erb

The Rural Municipality of Macdonald is home to 7,162 residents and was named after Canada’s first Prime Minister Sir John Macdonald. It is situated to the southwest of Winnipeg covering approximately 1,106 square kilometers. The La Salle River, a tributary of the Red River, winds through the municipality and provides many picturesque river front properties and recreation opportunities throughout the municipality. Major communities in Macdonald include Oak Bluff, La Salle, Domain, Brunkild, Sanford, Starbuck and Osborne. Macdonald’s economy primarily focuses around agriculture, wood processing and building supply products.